Add your thoughts here… (optional)

Historical Palette: Miniature Painting by Scott Merrifield

A few people have asked if I could put together a tutorial on how I go about painting faces, so a few weeks back I decided I’d give it a go. I had to stop a few times because I’ve been sick, so it took a few weeks to get it all together (hence the different photographs, lighting, etc). But maybe someone will find it useful.

Most of what I do when I paint faces for units I learned from my friend Kris, who also posted his tutorial on his blog Wargames and Railroads. All I’ve really done is added a couple quick steps. But it’s basically the same thing.

An important note- this is how I am currently painting faces for units. Not for display or competition pieces. What I’m trying to do when I paint this way to to get faces that look right to me in a…

View original post 1,355 more words

Leave a Reply

